Louisiana locksmith license

Yes. Louisiana licenses locksmiths through the Office of State Fire Marshal: a locksmith firm needs a firm license with a locksmith endorsement, and each technician needs an individual license with a locksmith technician endorsement. Licenses are now valid for three years.

Last checked October 13, 2026 · 53 quoted facts from official pages

A tall louvered double door with an antique brass box lock and an open tool case on flagstones

Louisiana at a glance

State license
Yes, a statewide license
License types
4
Renewal
Every 3 years
City and county rules
See the notes below

License types

As the agency names them.

Company

Firm license with Technical Endorsement - Locksmith

Required for each operating location. A firm holding a property protection endorsement must be physically located in Louisiana and employ a qualifier for each endorsement. Specialty endorsements defined in R.S. 40:1664.3 include Automotive Locksmith and Limited Locksmith (added by Acts 2024, No. 385); bank-locking and detention locking are subclassifications of locksmith.

Individual

Individual (employee) license - Locksmith Technician endorsement

Required for each discipline performed; licensed individuals may not work as independent contractors, so a one-person business needs both a firm license and an individual license. Specialty endorsements include Limited Locksmith Technician and Automotive Locksmith Technician (created by Acts 2024, No. 385, eff. Jan. 1, 2025), Bank Locking and Detention Locking specialists.

Manager

Qualifier (qualifying person)

Paid employee working at least 32 hours/week who meets the Education Board's qualifier credentials, actively supervises the firm's work, qualifies only one firm, and lives within 150 miles of the office.

Apprentice / trainee

Apprentice license

Required for anyone working as an apprentice; work only under direct supervision of a licensed technician of the same firm; minimum age 16.

Requirements

Only what the official pages state. A blank means we could not confirm it.

Minimum age
18
Training or experience
Technicians need a certificate from an Education Board-approved locksmith course or credential (e.g., ALOA Six-Day Basic Locksmithing or Fundamentals of Locksmithing, ALOA CLL/CRL/CPL/CML, a Department of Labor apprenticeship, Lockmasters). Firm qualifiers need an ALOA CLL, CRL, CPL or CML plus the Fire Marshal Administrative Rules Course (within one year of designation, then every three years) and the Fire Marshal Fire Alarm & Locking Plan Review and Life Safety Code Course.
Exam
No separate state-administered exam; every approved training/certification used for licensing must include a pass/fail exam (online courses require a third-party proctor).
Background check
Since Aug. 1, 2026 (Act 682), criminal background checks are required for each principal, officer and designated qualifier of a firm holding a property protection endorsement (the statutory check for every individual endorsement holder was repealed). Those persons may not have a felony conviction, first-offender pardon or guilty/nolo plea to a felony unless 10+ years have passed since completion of the sentence; the 10-year exception does not apply to crimes of violence, listed sex offenses or felony property offenses.
Insurance
Firm: original certificate showing at least $500,000 general liability coverage, plus a valid workers' compensation policy as required by state law.

Fees

From the agency's fee rules. Fees change, so check before you apply.

FeeAmount
Firm endorsement - initial (Acts 2026, No. 682, eff. Aug. 1, 2026; 3-year license)$1,200
Firm endorsement - renewal (every 3 years)$375
Employee endorsement - initial$300
Employee endorsement - renewal (every 3 years)$150
Late renewal fee after the 15-day grace period (maximum)$125
Duplicate or replacement firm or individual license$20
Transfer of an individual license to another firm$20
Criminal history verification (cost borne by the applicant)Not stated

Renewal and continuing education

Renewal
Every 3 years
Continuing education
Education Board guidelines (revised 08/28/2025) require each individual license holder to complete at least 8 contact hours of CE per one-year licensing period, at least half from listed approved-course categories; qualifiers must retake the Fire Marshal Administrative Rules Course every 3 years. How the 8-hour rule maps onto the new 3-year license term was not stated on any fetched page.

Working without a license

Engaging in life safety and property protection contracting (including locksmithing) without a valid license is a prohibited act. The State Fire Marshal may issue cease-and-desist orders, obtain injunctions with a penalty of $50 per day per violation plus attorney fees and court costs, and impose administrative fines of up to $5,000 per violation.

City and county rules in Louisiana

Each entry is backed by the official sources quoted below.

Louisiana parishes and cities

Louisiana parishes and municipalities may not pass new ordinances regulating the locksmith firms and technicians the state licenses, and the state law supersedes local licensing ordinances (La. R.S. 40:1664.16).

Official page

What the official sources say

Each line is a short quote from the official page it links to, with the date we read it.

  • A state license from the State Fire Marshal is required to engage in life safety and property protection contracting, and each firm operating location needs its own firm license (R.S. 40:1664.4(A)).

    “No person or firm shall engage in life safety and property protection contracting without holding a current and valid license”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Each operating location of a firm must hold a separate firm license (R.S. 40:1664.4(A)).

    “Each operating location of a firm shall hold a separate firm license.”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Locks are property protection equipment, so locksmith work falls under this licensing law (R.S. 40:1664.3; source note includes Acts 2024, No. 385, eff. Jan. 1, 2025).

    “Property protection systems and equipment include but are not limited to intrusion alarms, closed circuit television, automotive locks, mechanical locks, and electronic locks.”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • A locksmith technician is defined by work on special, mechanical or electronic locking devices (R.S. 40:1664.3(57)).

    “means an individual who sells, repairs, rebuilds, recodes, services, adjusts, installs, manipulates, or bypasses a special locking system, mechanical locking device”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • An automotive locksmith endorsement covers automotive locks, including programming key fobs and transponders (R.S. 40:1664.3(6), added by Acts 2024, No. 385).

    “authorizing either to engage in property protection activity of automotive locks and equipment, including programming of automotive key fobs and transponder devices”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • A limited locksmith endorsement covers automotive locks and non-powered mechanical locks in commercial and residential structures (R.S. 40:1664.3(53)).

    “mechanical locks in commercial and residential structures that are nonpowered, whether by electrical current or battery”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Bank-locking and detention locking systems are subclassifications of locksmith (R.S. 40:1664.3).

    “Bank-locking systems are a subclassification of locksmith.”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Detention locking systems are likewise a subclassification of locksmith (R.S. 40:1664.3).

    “Detention locking systems are a subclassification of locksmith.”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

Show 45 more facts
  • Firm applicants must show at least $500,000 of general liability coverage (R.S. 40:1664.6(B)(3)).

    “An original certificate of insurance documenting that the firm has a minimum of five hundred thousand dollars general liability coverage.”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Firm applicants must show workers' compensation coverage as required by state law (R.S. 40:1664.6(B)(4)).

    “documenting that the firm has a current and valid worker's compensation insurance policy as required by state law”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • A firm with a property protection endorsement (e.g., locksmith) must be physically located in Louisiana (R.S. 40:1664.6(C)).

    “A firm holding a property protection endorsement must be located within the physical boundaries of the state.”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Each operating location must employ a qualifying individual for each endorsement held (R.S. 40:1664.6(B)(6)).

    “Proof of employment of a qualifying individual with the proper certification and training at each of its operating locations for each endorsement held.”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Individuals must obtain a license for each discipline they perform (R.S. 40:1664.7(A)).

    “an individual shall apply for and obtain a license for each discipline for which he shall perform life safety and property protection contracting”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Licensed individuals may not work as independent contractors for a firm (R.S. 40:1664.7(D)).

    “No individual licensed under this Section shall contract for his services as an independent contractor or agent with any life safety and property protection firm”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Individual licensees must meet the certification, CE, training and testing requirements set by the Life Safety and Property Protection Education Board (R.S. 40:1664.7(E)).

    “Meet all certification, continuing education, training, and testing requirements as established by the board.”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Apprentices must hold an apprentice license and work only under direct supervision of a licensed technician of the same firm (R.S. 40:1664.4(D)).

    “An apprentice may perform such services only under the direct supervision of a technician holding a valid license”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Minimum age is 18 for a technician's license (LAC 55:V.3215(K); LR 37:2740, September 2011).

    “no one under the age of 18 shall be eligible for a technician's license”

    Source: lasfm.org · checked October 13, 2026

  • Minimum age is 16 for an apprentice license (LAC 55:V.3215(K)).

    “no person under the age of 16 shall be eligible for an apprentice license”

    Source: lasfm.org · checked October 13, 2026

  • A qualifier must be a paid employee working at least 32 hours per week (LAC 55:V.3221(B)).

    “The qualifying person shall be a paid employee working a minimum of 32 hours per week”

    Source: lasfm.org · checked October 13, 2026

  • A qualifier must live within 150 miles of the office he or she qualifies (LAC 55:V.3221(B)).

    “A qualifier must physically reside within 150 miles of the office for which he or she qualifies.”

    Source: lasfm.org · checked October 13, 2026

  • A qualifier may qualify only one firm (LAC 55:V.3221(B)).

    “The qualifier shall only qualify one firm for which he is employed.”

    Source: lasfm.org · checked October 13, 2026

  • Locksmith firm qualifiers need an ALOA CLL, CRL, CPL or CML certification plus Fire Marshal courses (Education Board Training and Education Requirements, revised 08/28/2025).

    “LOCKSMITH (Electronic or Mechanical locks) Certifications required: 1. ALOA Certified Licensed Locksmith (CLL); or 2. ALOA Certified Registered Locksmith (CRL)”

    Source: lasfm.org · checked October 13, 2026

  • ALOA Certified Professional Locksmith (CPL) or Certified Master Locksmith (CML) also satisfy the locksmith qualifier credential (guidelines revised 08/28/2025).

    “3. ALOA Certified Professional Locksmith (CPL); or 4. ALOA Certified Master Locksmith (CML)”

    Source: lasfm.org · checked October 13, 2026

  • Locksmith qualifiers must also complete the Fire Marshal Fire Alarm & Locking Plan Review and Life Safety Code Course (guidelines revised 08/28/2025).

    “Fire Marshal Fire Alarm & Locking Plan Review and Life Safety Code Course”

    Source: lasfm.org · checked October 13, 2026

  • Locksmith technicians qualify through an approved course or credential, starting with the ALOA Six-Day Basic or Fundamentals of Locksmithing courses (guidelines revised 08/28/2025).

    “LOCKSMITH (Electronic or Mechanical locks) TECHNICIAN 1. ALOA Six-Day Basic Locksmithing Course; or 2. ALOA Fundamentals of Locksmithing Course”

    Source: lasfm.org · checked October 13, 2026

  • Other approved technician credentials include a Department of Labor apprenticeship certificate and the Lockmasters professional course (guidelines revised 08/28/2025).

    “Certificate of Graduation from a Department of Labor Apprenticeship Program; or ... Lockmasters Security Institute Professional Locksmithing Course”

    Source: lasfm.org · checked October 13, 2026

  • Approved licensing training must include a pass/fail exam (guidelines revised 08/28/2025).

    “All technical training and/or testing for licensing qualification must include an exam with a pass/fail result.”

    Source: lasfm.org · checked October 13, 2026

  • Online certification courses are accepted only if the exam is proctored by a third party not associated with the employing firm (guidelines revised 08/28/2025).

    “examination be proctored by a third party not associated with the firm for which the students work”

    Source: lasfm.org · checked October 13, 2026

  • Qualifiers must take the Fire Marshal Administrative Rules Course within one year of designation (and every three years) (guidelines revised 08/28/2025).

    “All Qualifiers must take a Fire Marshal Administrative Rules Course within one year of being designated as a Qualifier.”

    Source: lasfm.org · checked October 13, 2026

  • The Fire Marshal Administrative Rules Course must be repeated every three years (guidelines revised 08/28/2025).

    “This course must also be taken once every three years.”

    Source: lasfm.org · checked October 13, 2026

  • Individual license holders must complete at least 8 contact hours of CE per one-year licensing period (guidelines revised 08/28/2025, written before the 3-year license term took effect).

    “must document that he/she has obtained at least eight (8) contact hours of continuing education within the one (1) year licensing period”

    Source: lasfm.org · checked October 13, 2026

  • At least half of CE hours must come from specified approved-course categories (guidelines revised 08/28/2025).

    “Individuals must obtain at least 50% of their continuing education hours from categories number 1, 3, 4, 6 or 9”

    Source: lasfm.org · checked October 13, 2026

  • HB 917 of the 2026 Regular Session was signed and became Act No. 682, effective August 1, 2026 (Legislature bill status page).

    “Signed by the Governor. Becomes Act No. 682.”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Act 682's effective date is August 1, 2026 (Legislature bill status page).

    “Effective date: 08/01/2026.”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Act 682 replaced the per-endorsement fee table: firm endorsement $1,200 initial and $375 renewal (R.S. 40:1664.9(B) as amended, eff. Aug. 1, 2026).

    “FIRM ENDORSEMENT Initial Fee: $1,200 Renewal: $375”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Under Act 682, the employee endorsement fee is $300 initial and $150 renewal (R.S. 40:1664.9(B) as amended, eff. Aug. 1, 2026).

    “EMPLOYEE ENDORSEMENT: Initial Fee: $300 Renewal Fee: $150”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Act 682 changed license validity from one year to three years (Legislature's Resume Digest of Act 682).

    “New law instead provides that all licenses are valid for three years.”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Renewal applications filed more than 15 days after expiration incur a late fee of up to $125 (Resume Digest of Act 682).

    “For applications placed after 15 days, a late fee not exceeding $125 in addition to the renewal fee will be charged.”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Act 682 limited mandatory background checks to qualifiers and principal officers rather than all individual applicants (Legislative Fiscal Office note, enrolled bill, June 1, 2026).

    “limiting mandatory background checks to qualifying parties and principal officers of licensed entities, rather than all individual applicants”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • As amended by Act 682, each principal, officer and designated qualifier of a property protection firm must pass a criminal background check (R.S. 40:1664.8(A)).

    “each designated qualifier of a firm holding a property protection endorsement shall undergo and pass a criminal background check”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • As amended by Act 682, a principal, officer or designated qualifier may not have a felony conviction, first-offender pardon or guilty/nolo plea to a felony (R.S. 40:1664.8(C)).

    “No ... principal, officer, or designated qualifier of a firm applying for a property protection license shall have been convicted of a felony”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • The bar also covers a first-time offender pardon for a felony or a guilty/nolo contendere plea to a felony (R.S. 40:1664.8(C), as amended by Act 682).

    “received a first-time offender pardon for a felony, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to a felony charge”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • A felony is not automatically disqualifying if 10+ years have passed since completion of the sentence, except for crimes of violence, listed sex offenses and felony property offenses (R.S. 40:1664.8(D)-(E)).

    “if ten or more years has elapsed between the date of application and the date of successful completion or service of any sentence”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • The 10-year exception does not apply to felony crimes of violence, listed sex offenses or felony offenses against property (R.S. 40:1664.8(E)).

    “Subsection D of this Section shall not apply to any person convicted of a felony crime of violence ... or a felony offense against property”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • A duplicate or replacement firm or individual license costs $20 (R.S. 40:1664.9(H), not amended by Act 682).

    “The cost for a duplicate or replacement firm or individual license is twenty dollars, regardless of how many endorsements are carried.”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Transferring an individual license to another firm costs $20 (R.S. 40:1664.9(I)).

    “The cost to transfer an individual license from one firm to another is twenty dollars.”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Towing service and automobile club employees opening car locks in the normal course of their duties are exempt from licensure (R.S. 40:1664.5(A)(6)).

    “Any employee of a towing service, or an automobile club, while such person is opening automotive locks in the normal course of his duties.”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Retail stores re-coding new locks on their premises or duplicating keys are exempt, except proprietary and 'do not duplicate'/'master key' keys (R.S. 40:1664.5(A)(9)).

    “Any merchant or retail store that is in the business of re-coding new locks on the retail premises only or duplicating keys”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Engaging in life safety and property protection contracting without a valid license is a prohibited act (R.S. 40:1664.12(1)).

    “Engage in life safety and property protection contracting without a valid license.”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • The State Fire Marshal may fine a violator up to $5,000 per violation (R.S. 40:1664.14(B)).

    “he may impose upon that person or firm a fine in an amount not to exceed five thousand dollars for each violation”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • The State Fire Marshal may order a person or firm violating the Subpart to cease and desist (R.S. 40:1664.14(A)(1)).

    “directing such person or firm to cease and desist from such activity, conduct, or practice”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • In an injunction suit, the State Fire Marshal may demand $50 per day per violation plus attorney fees and costs (R.S. 40:1664.14(A)(5)).

    “the state fire marshal may demand of the defendant a penalty of fifty dollars per day for each violation, reasonable attorney fees, and court costs”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

  • Parishes and municipalities may not enact new ordinances regulating firms and persons subject to state licensure, and existing local licensure ordinances are superseded (R.S. 40:1664.16).

    “no parish or municipality shall enact any new ordinance, rule, or regulation regulating firms and persons subject to licensure pursuant to this Subpart”

    Source: legis.la.gov · checked October 13, 2026

Sales tax on locksmith work in Louisiana

Rates, local taxes and how Louisiana treats labor and repair charges: sales tax facts for Louisiana.

Running a locksmith business in Louisiana on IntelliDrive OS

What the software does today, nothing more. It does not apply for licenses, file returns or give legal or tax advice.

One tax rate per shop

Add your rates under Settings → Tax Rates, then choose each shop’s default rate under Settings → Outlets, so every shop charges its own local rate.

All features

Records kept digitally

Invoices, receipts, signatures and photos are kept digitally for your records, and you can send a receipt to the customer by email or text.

Payment-link evidence

Payment links through your own account

Text or email a payment link through your own QuickBooks Payments, Square or Stripe account. On a payment-link sale the record keeps the customer’s signature, the terms they accepted, IP address and device, photos, and location when their browser shares it.

Payment processing

Stock by shop and van

Each shop, and each van you set up as its own location, keeps its own stock, with reorder points, counts and exact transfers between locations.

Inventory

Your team, hours and commission

Time clock, timesheets, pay rates and per-technician commission reporting, with role permissions and staff limited to their own shop.

Workforce

QuickBooks Online, when you choose

Push sales and payments from IntelliDrive OS to QuickBooks Online. It is a one-way push that you start yourself.

QuickBooks integration

Scheduling and dispatch (add-on)

Scheduling, dispatch, live GPS and ETA texts come with the GetTimePad add-on at $199/month. It is not part of the $79 plan.

Scheduling

More for locksmiths: IntelliDrive OS for locksmiths.

Louisiana locksmith license questions

Do you need a license to be a locksmith in Louisiana?

Yes. Louisiana licenses locksmiths through the Office of State Fire Marshal: a locksmith firm needs a firm license with a locksmith endorsement, and each technician needs an individual license with a locksmith technician endorsement. Licenses are now valid for three years.

Who issues locksmith licenses in Louisiana?

Louisiana Office of State Fire Marshal, under La. R.S. 40:1664.1 and following.

How much does a Louisiana locksmith license cost?

Firm endorsement - initial (Acts 2026, No. 682, eff. Aug. 1, 2026; 3-year license): $1,200. Firm endorsement - renewal (every 3 years): $375. Employee endorsement - initial: $300. Employee endorsement - renewal (every 3 years): $150. Fees change, so check the agency's fee page before you apply.

How often do you renew a Louisiana locksmith license?

Every 3 years. Education Board guidelines (revised 08/28/2025) require each individual license holder to complete at least 8 contact hours of CE per one-year licensing period, at least half from listed approved-course categories; qualifiers must retake the Fire Marshal Administrative Rules Course every 3 years.

What happens if you work as a locksmith without a license in Louisiana?

Engaging in life safety and property protection contracting (including locksmithing) without a valid license is a prohibited act. The State Fire Marshal may issue cease-and-desist orders, obtain injunctions with a penalty of $50 per day per violation plus attorney fees and court costs, and impose administrative fines of up to $5,000 per violation.

Can a city or county in Louisiana require its own locksmith license?

Louisiana parishes and municipalities may not pass new ordinances regulating the locksmith firms and technicians the state licenses, and the state law supersedes local licensing ordinances (La. R.S. 40:1664.16).

This guide summarizes the official pages linked next to each fact. Rules and fees change, so check with the licensing agency before you apply or take work. This is not legal advice.

Last checked October 13, 2026.

Locksmith license rules for every state

Run your Louisiana locksmith business on IntelliDrive OS

$79/month per business, billed monthly, with unlimited users.

The first 30 days are free. A card is required at signup and the first charge is on day 31; cancel in Settings → Billing before then and you pay nothing.