Olympia locksmith license

Yes. Olympia requires a city business license to work as a locksmith or run a locksmith business, and every locksmith and locksmith-business employee must also carry an occupational permit from the Olympia Police Department. Applicants are fingerprinted for state and nationwide background checks, permits run for the calendar year, and Olympia honors locksmith permits from Lacey, Tumwater and Yelm.

Last checked October 13, 2026 · 16 quoted facts from official pages

A boathouse door at a marina secured with a brass padlock on a steel hasp, sailboat masts behind

License types

Company

City business license (locksmith business)

Any person, firm or corporation acting as a locksmith or running a locksmith business in Olympia needs a city business license under OMC 5.02 (issued as an Olympia endorsement on the state business license).

Individual

Locksmith occupational permit

Every locksmith and every employee of a locksmith business must carry an occupational permit issued by the Olympia Police Department. Permits run for the calendar year and are renewed yearly. Olympia honors locksmith permits issued by Lacey, Tumwater and Yelm.

Requirements

Only what the official pages state.

Training or experience
No training or experience requirement appears in OMC 5.52 or 5.10.
Background check
Applicants are fingerprinted for state and nationwide background checks at the first application and every third year. An outstanding warrant is cause for denial, and a felony counts against an applicant by itself only if it was within the past ten years and directly relates to the work.

Fees

Fees change, so check with the office before you apply.

FeeAmount
City business license, initial fee (OMC 5.02.015; state Business Licensing Service handling fees are extra)$30
Locksmith occupational permit fee (set by the city manager; includes state and FBI background-check and fingerprinting charges)Not stated

Renewal

Renewal
Every year

Working without a license

Breaking the locksmith or occupational permit rules is a civil infraction, and each day is a separate infraction.

What the official sources say

Each line is a short quote from the official page it links to, with the date we read it.

  • Acting as a locksmith or running a locksmith business in Olympia requires a city license under OMC 5.02 (OMC 5.52.020).

    “to act as a locksmith or to engage in business as a locksmith business in the City without first obtaining a license”

    Source: codepublishing.com · checked October 13, 2026

  • Every locksmith and locksmith-business employee must carry a police-issued occupational permit (OMC 5.52.050).

    “Every locksmith and employee of a locksmith business shall at all times have in the locksmith’s and employee’s possession an occupational permit”

    Source: codepublishing.com · checked October 13, 2026

  • Olympia defines a locksmith as someone who, for hire, installs, removes, adjusts or repairs locking or security devices on the customer's premises (OMC 5.52.010).

    “and performs such service on the customer’s premises.”

    Source: codepublishing.com · checked October 13, 2026

  • The locksmith chapter was last amended by Ordinance 7424 in 2025.

    “(Ord. 7424 §34, 2025; Ord. 6694 §13, 2010, repealed OMC 5.52.025 through 5.52.040).”

    Source: codepublishing.com · checked October 13, 2026

  • Chapter 5.10 makes it unlawful to act as a locksmith without an occupational permit (OMC 5.10.010(B)).

    “Locksmith – It is unlawful for any person, to act as a locksmith in the City without first obtaining an occupational permit”

    Source: codepublishing.com · checked October 13, 2026

  • Permit applications go to the Olympia Police Department (OMC 5.10.030(A)).

    “Applications for an occupational permit shall be made to the City Police Department on forms provided by the City.”

    Source: codepublishing.com · checked October 13, 2026

  • Applicants must consent to fingerprinting for a criminal background check (OMC 5.10.045(A)).

    “All applicants for a permit under this chapter or a license under Chapter 5.16 OMC must consent to be fingerprinted for a criminal background check.”

    Source: codepublishing.com · checked October 13, 2026

  • State and nationwide background checks are run at the first application and every third year (OMC 5.10.045(A)).

    “a state and nationwide background check of each applicant at the time of initial application and every third year thereafter”

    Source: codepublishing.com · checked October 13, 2026

Show 8 more facts
  • An outstanding warrant is cause for denial (OMC 5.10.040(C)).

    “The presence of any outstanding warrant for the applicant, regardless of jurisdiction or severity of offense, is cause for denial of an occupational permit”

    Source: codepublishing.com · checked October 13, 2026

  • A felony alone bars a permit only if within the past 10 years and directly related to the occupation (OMC 5.10.040(D)).

    “unless such conviction was within the past ten (10) years and directly relates to the specific occupation, trade, vocation, or business”

    Source: codepublishing.com · checked October 13, 2026

  • Occupational permits are valid for the calendar year of issue and renew in one-year increments (OMC 5.10.050(B)).

    “Occupational permits issued under this chapter are valid for the calendar year of issue only and may be renewed in consecutive one-year increments.”

    Source: codepublishing.com · checked October 13, 2026

  • The permit fee is set by the city manager, not stated in the code (OMC 5.10.050(C)).

    “The city manager shall set the fee for occupational permits under this chapter.”

    Source: codepublishing.com · checked October 13, 2026

  • Background-check and fingerprinting fees are part of the application fee and are non-refundable (OMC 5.10.045(C)).

    “Background check and fingerprinting fees are non-refundable.”

    Source: codepublishing.com · checked October 13, 2026

  • Olympia honors locksmith permits issued by Lacey, Tumwater and Yelm (OMC 5.10.070).

    “The City of Olympia honors for-hire driver, locksmith and solicitor permits issued by the cities of Lacey, Tumwater and Yelm.”

    Source: codepublishing.com · checked October 13, 2026

  • Violations are civil infractions, each day separate, with penalties under OMC 4.44 (OMC 5.10.300).

    “Each day shall be a separate infraction.”

    Source: codepublishing.com · checked October 13, 2026

  • The initial city business license fee is $30 (OMC 5.02.015).

    “The initial fee for the City business license required by this chapter is $30.00.”

    Source: codepublishing.com · checked October 13, 2026

Olympia locksmith license questions

Do locksmiths need a license in Olympia?

Yes. Olympia requires a city business license to work as a locksmith or run a locksmith business, and every locksmith and locksmith-business employee must also carry an occupational permit from the Olympia Police Department. Applicants are fingerprinted for state and nationwide background checks, permits run for the calendar year, and Olympia honors locksmith permits from Lacey, Tumwater and Yelm.

Who issues locksmith licenses in Olympia?

City of Olympia (business license) and Olympia Police Department (occupational permit), under Olympia Municipal Code chapters 5.52 (Locksmiths) and 5.10 (Occupational Permits).

How much does a Olympia locksmith license cost?

City business license, initial fee (OMC 5.02.015; state Business Licensing Service handling fees are extra): $30. Fees change, so check the office's fee page before you apply.

How often do you renew a Olympia locksmith license?

Every year.

What happens if you work as a locksmith without a license in Olympia?

Breaking the locksmith or occupational permit rules is a civil infraction, and each day is a separate infraction.

This guide summarizes the official pages linked next to each fact. Rules and fees change, so check with the licensing agency before you apply or take work. This is not legal advice.

Last checked October 13, 2026.

Locksmith license rules for every state

Run your Olympia locksmith business on IntelliDrive OS

$79/month per business, billed monthly, with unlimited users.

The first 30 days are free. A card is required at signup and the first charge is on day 31; cancel in Settings → Billing before then and you pay nothing.